Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

  December 1, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Science & Health
Story Behind the Story:    Catherine Price's    Vitamania
Top 10 Science & Health    Books
Top 10 Science & Health    Books for Youth
Unpacking a Standard:    Science and the    Standards
Features
The Back Page: Bars, Real    and Imagined
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Big Books for a Long Winter's Night
High-Demand Hot List
High-Demand Hot List for    Youth


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Musicians    Tell All
Great Reads: Horror    Directors Who Became    Authors
Great Reads: Great Group    Reads, 2014
Celebrate Banned Books    Week With Graphic    Novels
Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers

From BookLinks

November 2014

November 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Mesmerized
By Mara Rockliff

On brilliantly illustrated pages full of rococo details and beautifully calligraphed text, Rockliff tells the story of how Benjamin Franklin debunked Dr. Mesmer’s magical cure-all. As scientific innovation swept France in the eighteenth century, Mesmer decided to bring his own discovery to the mix

    >>Read More



column_carte-blanche Carte Blanche: Religion and Young Readers
By Michael Cart

The spotlight focus of this issue has set me to thinking about religion and its place in literature for young readers. Though I devoted two of these columns (2009 and 2012) to religion as being the last taboo in young adult literature, the fact is that the subject has been a staple of children’s literature for centuries, at least since the days of the Puritans and the 1672 publication of James Janeway’s cheery (!) A Token for Children, Being an Exact Account of the Conversion, Holy and Exemplary Lives, and Joyful Deaths of Several Young Children (the joyful death of tots was a big deal among the Puritans).

read-alikes_prayers Read-alikes: Prayers for the Youngest
By Ilene Cooper

It’s never too early to start teaching children about gratitude and empathy. One way to do this is through the use of blessings and prayers, which help children think about families—their own and those in the larger world. The books below cover a wide range of religions and cultures. The simple words and child-friendly illustrations work as life reminders of faith and love.

top10-religion-reference Top 10 Religion Reference Sources: 2014
By Rebecca Vnuk

Our first top 10 made up of religion reference titles encompasses subjects ranging from peace and the Buddha to the violence that often erupts from religious controversies. The titles selected were reviewed in Booklist between November 2012 and November 2014.

The Columbia Sourcebook of Mormons in the United States. Ed. by Terryl L. Givens and Reid L. Neilson. 2014. Columbia Univ., $80 (9780231149426).

top10-religion_youth Top 10 Religion and Spirituality Books for Youth: 2014
By Ilene Cooper

This year’s crop of standouts covers a wide range of books that deal with both the lighter and darker sides of religion and spirituality. They were reviewed in Booklist between November 15, 2013, and November 1, 2014.

Deep in the Sahara. By Kelly Cunnane. Illus. by Hoda Hadadi. 2013. Random/Schwartz & Wade, $17.99 (9780375870347). K–Gr. 3.

top10-religion Top 10 Religion and Spirituality Books: 2014
By Ilene Cooper

A wide range of religious thought appears in this top 10 list, which features books reviewed between November 15, 2013, and November 1, 2014.

American Crucifixion: The Murder of Joseph Smith and the Fate of the Mormon Church. By Alex Beam. 2014. PublicAffairs, $26.99 (9781610393133).

A captivating look at Smith’s rise and fall and at the colorful cast who contributed to the internal politics that led to Smith’s death, driving the Mormons forward to their destiny.

great-reads Great Reads: Musicians Tell All
By Donna Seaman

Musicians’ memoirs are irresistible. Most musicians heed the call early in life, and those who have achieved memoir-worthy fame have experienced many highs and lows, the basic ingredients for a great read. Music is a collaborative art, and musicians’ relationships tend to be volatile as they cope with mysteries of creativity and the pressure to succeed commercially. Extended tours erode love and domesticity while placing extreme demands on friendship and engendering wild and self-destructive behavior.

Blogs
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BOOKLIST READER | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications