Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

    April 15 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on Historical    Fiction
Core Collection: Russia's    Pressure Points
Top 10 Historical Fiction
Carte Blanche: The Past    Is Present
Core Collection:    Remembering the Great    War
Top 10 Historical Fiction    for Youth
Top 10 Historical Fiction    Audiobooks for Youth
Features
Spring E-reference    Update: Databases and    E-books


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2014: The Fiction    Shortlist
Carnegie Medal Read-    Alikes, 2014: The    Nonfiction Shortlist
Great Reads: Comics with    Strong Female    Characters
Great Reads: Black    Novelists under the    Radar
50 Years, 50 Books: The    Assassination of JFK in    Fiction
Romanced by Rafe: Six    Sexy Books Where It’s    All in the Name
Recipes Are Included:    Seven Sizzling Culinary    Romances
Great Reads: Sports from    the Inside
The Free MFA in Creative    Nonfiction: Save Your    Money and Read These    Books Instead
Richard Ford and Timothy    Egan Win Andrew    Carnegie Medals for    Excellence in Fiction and    Nonfiction

From BookLinks

April 2014

April 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Awards

Likely Stories
Book Group Buzz
Audiobooker
Bookends
Shelf Renewal

Review Of The Day
Sugar
By Jewell Parker Rhodes

This post–Civil War saga relates life on a plantation in Louisiana, where the owners still regard their sharecropper workers as slaves, and newly acquired Chinese workers represent competition. Right in the thick of things is Sugar, an impetuous 10-year-old orphan. Her friendship with the plantation owner’s son, Billy, and her desire to understand the Chinese newcomers upset her entire community. Turpin’s energetic performance features distinct voices for each of the characters, of various ages and races and viewpoints.

    >>Read More



Top 10 Historical Fiction Audio for Youth Top 10 Historical Fiction Audiobooks for Youth
By Joyce Saricks

These diverse titles from the past two years demonstrate that historical fiction works especially well in audio, allowing young listeners to experience different eras, characters, and events through readers who enliven the settings and stories.

All the Truth That’s in Me. By Julie Berry. Read by Kathleen McInerney. 2013. 8hr. Dreamscape, CD, $59.99 (9781624069178). Gr. 9–12.

McInerney slowly builds tempo in this moving story of Judith, kidnapped and mutilated four years earlier, who struggles to find her place in an isolated colonial village.

Core Collection: Remembering the Great War Core Collection: Remembering the Great War
By Sarah Hunter

WWI started 100 years ago this July, and in light of that somber centennial, we’re revisiting Hazel Rochman’s November 1, 2001, column, “Read-alikes: The War to End All Wars,” and highlighting 13 more historical novels for teens about the Great War. Encompassing a variety of perspectives, the books on this list offer an unflinching look at battle, the home front, and the aftermath of a war fought by young men not much older than these novels’ target audience. These humanizing accounts bring the devastating effects of war into sharp relief.

Crossing Stones. By Helen Frost. 2009. Farrar/Frances Foster, $17.99 (9780374316532). Gr. 7–12.

Core Collection: Russia's Pressure Points Core Collection: Russia’s Pressure Points
By Brad Hooper

Ukraine dominates today’s headlines. Will the sovereignty of that recently independent nation—long part of the czarist empire and then of the Soviet Union—ultimately be respected by Russian president Putin or will he decide that the toppling of his ally President Yanukovych represents too much insubordination by the Ukrainian populace for him to bear?

Crises in Russia have torn at the social, political, and economic fabric of the Russian federation since the 1917 Revolution, and the effects of such crises have reverberated beyond Russia’s borders. What follows is a selective, annotated listing of historical novels that have as their subject certain crisis periods or events in Russia beginning with the lead-up to the 1917 Revolution

Top 10 Historical Fiction for Youth Top 10 Historical Fiction For Youth
By Ilene Cooper

Stories set around the world and across eras are the hallmark of this year’s crop of best historical fiction titles for young people, all reviewed in Booklist between April 15, 2013, and April 1, 2014.

Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy. By Elizabeth Kiem. 2013. SohoTeen, $17.99 (9781616952631). Gr. 8–11.

Set in 1982, this atmospheric, suspenseful story follows Marya and her father, who recently emigrated from Moscow to Brooklyn. When they’re given potentially dangerous information, decisions must be made.

Blogs Like us on facebook Tweet
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications