Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 160,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers—from the trusted experts at the American Library Association First time here?

Username:
 
Password:

You must be logged in to read full text of reviews.

> Logged-in users can make lists, save searches, e-mail, and more!

> Try a free trial or subscribe today

| | | | | | | | | | |
Quick Search
Go to Advanced Search
Current Issue

   November 1, 2014          BOOKLIST

Spotlight on the Arts
Top 10 Arts Books
Read-Alikes: Dig Your    Parents' Favorite Tunes
Top 10 Arts Books for    Youth
Listen-Alikes: Inside the    World of Arts and    Artists
Features
At Leisure with Joyce    Saricks: Looking Back;    or, Why We Keep a List


WEB EXCLUSIVES

Great Reads: Musicians    Tell All
Great Reads: Horror    Directors Who Became    Authors
Great Reads: Great Group    Reads, 2014
Celebrate Banned Books    Week With Graphic    Novels
Great Reads: Sports    Without Balls
Great Reads: Stay Inside!
Donna Tartt and Doris    Kearns Goodwin Win    Andrew Carnegie    Medals for Excellence in    Fiction and Nonfiction
Great Listens: Authors    Who Read Themselves
Great Reads: Lost Vegas
Fast Reads: 5 Crime    Novels about Getaway    Drivers
Politico Thrillers: 8    Washington Insiders    Who'd Rather Be Writing
Murder Castles and Urban    Infernos: 7 Historical    Mysteries Set in    Nineteenth-Century    Cities
Art Noir: 12 Graphic    Novels Where Crime Is    Shaded Gray

From BookLinks

November 2014

November 2014 Issue
Classroom Star

Common Core Resources

Review Of The Day
Andy Kaufman
By Bob Zmuda and Lynne Margulies

Is this the truth about Andy Kaufman? Or can we not handle the truth? Because according to Zmuda, the comedian’s longtime writing partner, Kaufman, who walked a very narrow line between funny and crazy, isn’t really dead.

    >>Read More



top10-arts_youth Top 10 Arts Books for Youth: 2014
By Ilene Cooper

This year’s top 10 books for youth about the arts introduce painters and dancers, potters and poets. The books on this list were reviewed in Booklist from November 1, 2013, to October 15, 2014.

A Dance like Starlight: One Ballerina’s Dream. By Kristy Dempsey. Illus. by Floyd Cooper. 2014. Philomel, $16.99 (9780399252846). K–Gr. 3.

An African American girl living in 1950s Harlem dreams that she, too, can become a dancer after she goes to see the first black prima ballerina perform.

strange-journey-martian The Strange Journey of The Martian: An Indie Success Story
By Mary Burkey

The adage “Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity” describes both debut author Andy Weir and the hero of Weir’s The Martian, Mark Watney, a NASA astronaut presumed dead and left behind when the first Mars landing team must abort their mission. Weir combines dry wit with a disarming emotional depth that propels both readers and listeners through shifting perspectives.

column_back-page The Back Page: The Myth of the Bedside Table
By Bill Ott

A lot of people talk about all the books on their bedside tables waiting to be read. I don’t buy it. Bedside tables aren’t very big. Anyone who can pile all their to-be-read books on the narrow confines of a bedside table isn’t much of a reader. Obsessive readers need much more space. Take me. I couldn’t begin to fit the piles of books I’m planning to read—those to be reviewed and those I’m hoping someday to read for pleasure—into such a dainty space.

column_carte-blanche Carte Blanche: It Might Have Been
By Michael Cart

First novels. Where would literature be without them? Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe (1719) is generally regarded as being the first one in English, though some have argued the honor should go, instead, to Thomas Malory’s Le Morte d’Arthur (1485) or John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress(1678). The first novel for children is less ambiguous, generally thought to be Little Goody Two Shoes (1765). Its full title is worth noting, since it’s nearly as long as the book itself.

children-are-prey-sometimes Children Are Prey Sometimes: Why The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer Is a YA Classic
By Daniel Kraus

Twenty-four years ago, a quick print tie-in to the TV series Twin Peaks was published, and like the show itself, the book continues to haunt.

There are two synopses one could write for Jennifer Lynch’sThe Secret Diary of Laura Palmer. The first: it told the backstory of Laura Palmer, the troubled Homecoming queen whose murder kicked off the show Twin Peaks, and it offered clues to the soon-to-be-revealed murderer.

Blogs
Blogs
HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BOOKLIST READER | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | RENEW / SUBSCRIBE

Booklist Online: Book Reviews from the American Library Association


Privacy Policy

© 2014 Booklist Publications